Nevada County Depot and Museum Home Page Nevada County Depot and Museum
403 West First Street South
PO Box 592
Prescott AR 71857
Phone: (870) 887-5821

Menu | Login | Sign Up

Tuesday, May 31, 2016 9:08:51 am
About Us | CDROM | Search | Comments | Discussions | Links | Newsletters | Articles and Features | Lists & Resources | Cemetery Survey | Photo Collections

Maps Showing the How the Counties of Arkansas Developed

After the Louisiana Purchase of May 1803, Arkansas was a territory and part of Missouri. After becoming a state , Arkansas County (formed December 13, 1815) begin splitting off into other counties. Lawrence was first split on January 15, 1815. Then, on December 15, 1819, Pulaski, Clark, and Hempstead were formed. These are usually cited as the first five counties of the State of Arkansas.

Nevada County was formed on March 20, 1871, mostly from land in the original Hempstead County. By then, the land was in Hempstead, Columbia and Clark counties.

  • Columbia had been formed on December 17, 1852 from Union, Ouachita, Hempstead, and Lafayette counties.
  • Ouachita had been formed from Union and Hempstead counites on November 29, 1842.
  • Union had been formed on November 2, 1829 from Clark and Hempstead counties.
  • Lafayette was formed from Hempstead County on October 15, 1827.

The following maps are provided to show how the counties of Arkansas formed.

Maps and research are courtesy of:

Desmond Walls Allen

Arkansas Research, Inc.

PO Box 303, Conway, AR 72033

501/470-1120 voice and fax

Historical information about Arkansas Counties

Arkansas Territory 1819

Arkansas Counties in 1836

Arkansas Counties in 1850

Nevada County was formed on March 20, 1871, mostly from land in one of Arkansas' original five counties, Hempstead. By 1871, the land used to form Nevada County was in Hempstead, Columbia, and Clark counties.

Member: American Association For State and Local History, Arkansas Museums Association

Copyright Notice and Limitations on Use: All informative and photographic material on the Nevada County Depot and Museum web site and compact discs are copyright ©1996-2016 Nevada County Depot and Museum. Routines that generate the pages were written by, hosted by, and copyright ©2002-2016 Danny Stewart.All rights are reserved. Individuals who access the web site or purchase a compact disk are limited to private viewing of the material or quotation in an individual's historical research project. Use of material must be attributed to "Nevada County Depot and Museum". Additional terms apply to items in the cemetery survey, as outlined on those pages. Prior written consent is required before any material is quoted or used in a work that is sold for any price or distributed by any means, either for profit or not for profit.

Suggested Bibliography Entries:
Author: Nevada County Depot and Museum
Title: "Maps Showing the How the Counties of Arkansas Developed"
Published by: Nevada County Depot and Museum, 403 West First Street South, Prescott Arkansas 71857
Retrieval Date: May 31, 2016