Nevada County Depot and Museum Home Page Nevada County Depot and Museum
403 West First Street South
PO Box 592
Prescott AR 71857
Phone: (870) 887-5821
Curator@DepotMuseum.Org

Menu | Login | Sign Up
About Us | CDROM | Search | Comments | Discussions | Links | Newsletters | Articles and Features | Lists & Resources | Cemetery Survey | Photo Collections
Saturday, October 25, 2014 9:55:08 pm


Biography

1005 - Mrs. Ada M. Davis Aburrow
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1863-1926

Born in Guildford, England, Mrs. Aburrow and her husband came to the United States and settled in Prescott, Arkansas. Members of her family, the Davises, also came to the Prescott area and were part of a sizeable immigrant community. She and her husband had four daughters before his early death in 1893. After her husband's death, she remarried a man named Andrews and lived in Texas for a number of years. Later in her life, she returned to Prescott where her daughters lived. She died on January 13, 1926, and was buried beside her first husband. Her daughters had married business and professional men in the Prescott area."

1010 - Alfred Aburrow
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1854-1893

Born in Hambelton, Hampshire, England, Alford Aburrow arrived in Prescott in the early 1880s where he quickly became active in business, bought and sold real estate, dealt in livestock and lent money. He had an interest in the Ozan Hardware Co. and seems to have been quite prosperous before his early death."

1015 - Mary Livingston Ansley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1833-1902

Born in South Carolina, Mary Livingston was living in Carouse Township, Ouachita County, Arkansas, (now Nevada County) with her father, a farmer, in 1860. Sometime in the early 1860s, she married William Strain Ansley. He was also a native of South Carolina and a widower almost twice her age. They had a family of five daughters. After the founding of Prescott, they moved to the new railroad town, and her husband began to invest in real estate by developing the Ansley Addition to Prescott. Her step-son John Augustus Ansley, only seven years her junior, was one of the most prominent members of the Greenbacker Movement, ran a private academy before the founding of Prescott High School and edited The Prescott Dispatch before he left for Washington State in 1890. Her husband died in 1880. His place of burial is unknown. She raised her daughters and remained in Prescott until her death in 1902."

1020 - John Hardin Arnold
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1828-1903

J.H. Arnold was born in Autauga County in south central Alabama on October 25, 1828. The son of William Bideston Arnold and his wife L. P. Hardin, Arnold was one of a large family of children. By 1837, the family had moved to Hempstead County, Arkansas,"

1025 - William E. Arnold, M.D.
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1837-1923

Dr. Arnold was a younger brother of J. H. Arnold. He studied medicine at the Atlanta Medical College, graduating in 1861. During the Civil War, he enlisted in Company A, First Arkansas as a private. Ultimately, Arnold became the assistant surgeon for the regiment. He was wounded at Atlanta while dressing a wound on the field and temporarily disabled. After the war, he returned to southwest Arkansas and married Mary McCollum in 1868. They had a family of five children before her death of pneumonia at Artesian, a community just west of Prescott, on January 3, 1885. Dr. Arnold built up a large practice at Prescott. He was a Mason. He died on February 23, 1923. He specified in his will that his monument should not cost more than $200."

1030 - William Percy Atkinson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 18??

The grave of this child is a reminder of the Atkinson family's lives and roles in early Prescott. Judge W. E. Atkinson (1852-1935), the child's father, was born in Alabama and moved as a child to Falcon, Nevada County, Arkansas, where he grew up. He att"

1035 - James A. Attaway
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: ?-1907

J. A. Attaway died in Pike County, Arkansas, leaving a wife and two children. Attaway was a fireman on the Prescott and Northwestern Railroad. On the night of October 8, 1907, his freight train had engine problems. The crew decided to head into a passi"

1040 - Bettie Monson Bailey
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1872-1947

Born in 1872 in Arkansas, Bettie Monson was the daughter of Anders Monson and his wife Mattie Griffith. She grew up in Moscow and early Prescott. On January 15, 1891, she married Mahlon H. Bailey of Prescott. They lost a young son early in their marriage. Mahlon Bailey (1891-1892) is buried near his parents. Later, they had a daughter. Bettie Bailey died at her home on West Second Street in Prescott on August 8, 1947, after an illness of several weeks."

1045 - Mahlon H. Bailey
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1871-1952

Born on February 26, 1871, in Patoka, Illinois, M. H. Bailey came to Prescott as a small boy with his father. He married and spent his entire life in Prescott where he worked as a cattleman and meat dealer. He died at his home on his eighty-first birthday, February 26, 1952. "

1050 - James P. Bell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1839-1909

An early citizen of Prescott, J. P. Bell was born on June 30, 1839 in Indiana. Both his parents came from Kentucky. Little is known of his early life, but by 1880 he was living in Prescott with his wife and three children. He was a blacksmith by trade. His obituary praised him for "being reliable in his dealings." He died on July 28, 1909, at his daughter's home."

1055 - Joeana Gee Bell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1841-1910

A native of Alabama, Joeana Gee was born on May 12, 1841. Little is known of her early life, but at some point she met and married James P. Bell and had a family. She survived her husband by a little more than a year, dying at her daughter's home in Prescott after a two-week illness on August 19, 1910."

1060 - J. L. Bell, M.D.
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1868-1920

Dr. Bell lived at Prescott and different places on the Prescott and Northwestern Railroad. He must have been working for a lumber company, for the sawmill town of Belton in Hempstead County was named for him. He died in Clark, Tennessee, on October 5, 1920, while visiting family."

1065 - Ethel McRae Bemis
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1875-1942

Ethel McRae was born in Rosston, Arkansas, on November 16, 1875, the eldest child of Thomas C. and Amelia White McRae. On November 7, 1877, she moved to Prescott with her parents. By the time of her marriage to H. E. Bemis in 1900, she was the daughter of a successful lawyer and long-serving Democratic Congressman. Before her husband's death in 1914, they had a family of fours sons and four daughters. She was active in the Presbyterian Church and a club woman. She died at her home in Prescott on February 27, 1942. Her daughter Mildred Bemis (1912-1931), who died young in a Colorado sanatorium of tuberculosis, is nearby"

1070 - Horace Erastus Bemis
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1868-1914

Member of a New England family that came to southwest Arkansas via Iowa and East Texas, H. E. Bemis formed an alliance between two influential and energetic families when he married Ethel McRae on November 14, 1900. The Bemis Family acquired the Prescott and Northwestern Railroad in the early 1890s and organized the Ozan Lumber Company to cut the virgin forests of southwest Arkansas. The Bemis Family soon had extensive interests that included land, timber, manufacturing, farming, banking and mining. The career of H. E. Bemis was cut short when he died suddenly on April 1, 1914."

1075 - Emily Terrisa Blake
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1833-1892

Born on March 4, 1833, Emily Peden was a native of Chester, South Carolina, and the daughter of Thomas and Isabella Peden, early settlers in the Carolina Settlement (Jackson Township) in then Ouachita County and now Nevada County, Arkansas. On January 22, 1857, she married William J. Blake, also a native of Chester, South Carolina. They farmed and began a family of five children born between 1857 and 1873. In 1877, they moved to Prescott where Mrs. Blake died on March 21, 1892. The Blakes were Methodists."

1080 - William J. Blake
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1830-1905

W. J. Blake enlisted as a private in Co. I, 15th Regiment, at the beginning of the Civil War. He fought against Grant's advance in Tennessee in early 1862. After the Confederate defeat, he returned to Arkansas and became the Captain of Co. I, 1st Trans-Mississippi Regiment. He fought at Cane Hill, Prairie Grove and Helena where he was wounded and taken prisoner. He was held in prison camps until June 30, 1864, and then spent the last year of the war with General Cabell's Brigade in Texas, surrendering at Marshall. In the years after the war, Blake was a merchant in Prescott and active in politics as a conservative Democrat. He served as the county treasurer from 1885 to1886. In Prescott, he was an alderman from 1882-89 and city treasurer from 1900-02. He was again serving as city treasurer at the time of his death in 1905."

1085 - Cornelia Simpson Griffin Blakely
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1868-1953

Born in 1868, Cornelia Griffin was the daughter of parents who were natives of Mulberry, South Carolina. They had married there in 1864. Later, they moved to Bingen in Hempstead County, Arkansas. Cornelia met E. Y. Blakeley, her future husband, while visiting relatives in Nevada County in 1886. They were married on June 6, 1888, and had four sons who lived to adulthood. She and her husband had been married in the Presbyterian Church but became Missionary Baptists. She spent the last years of her life in Gurdon where she was active in church work. Cornelia Blakely died on October 29, 1953."

1090 - Enoree Young Blakely
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1859-1931

E. Y. Blakely was born in Clinton, South Carolina on July 10, 1859. His parents Thomas and Eliza Young Blakeley came to what is now Nevada County, Arkansas, where they already had relatives, in 1870. Blakely was reared in Jackson Township, educated in the schools there and later went to school in St. Louis. He worked in a country store and farmed. At twenty-nine, he married and began a family. Blakeley served as tax assessor from 1897-1898. In 1898, he moved his family to Prescott when he was elected sheriff. He served as sheriff from 1899 to 1902. After leaving politics, he was associated with the Nevada County Hardware Company until his death on April 18, 1931. Blakely also served on the Prescott school board for a number of years."

1095 - Mrs. M. E. Bradshaw
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1836-1914

Born on April 9, 1836, in Tennessee, Mary E. Hope was educated at a boarding school in Dencerville, Tennessee. On February 8, 1857, she married William Temple Tompkins, a Virginian by birth. On December 16, 1861, she gave birth to William Vernon Tompki"

1100 - W. L. Bright
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1825-1882

Born on August 3, 1825, in Marlboro County, South Carolina, William Lodwick Bright was the son of Godfrey Bright and his wife Sarah Easterling. He came to Arkansas early in the 1850s from Smith County, Mississippi, and had purchased land in Carouse Towns"

1105 - Henry G. Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1824-1905

Born in Georgia on November 5, 1824, H. G. Brooks was the son of parents from Maryland. Before coming to Prescott about 1880, he and his family had lived in Louisiana. Brooks was a well-to-do merchant in early Prescott and had the money to support his children in their business ventures. He served two years as alderman in 1885 and in 1893. He died in Prescott on February 24, 1905, leaving a sizable estate to his children in Prescott and little to two children still in Louisiana."

1110 - James Thompson Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1856-1906

Born on August 10, 1856, in Alabama, James T. Brooks was the son of H. G. Brooks and his wife Jane A. Brooks, both natives of Georgia. The family moved from Alabama to Louisiana where J. T. Brooks married Lulu Green in 1878. By 1880, he was in Prescott "

1115 - Jane A. Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1828-1892

Born on March 5, 1828, Jane A. Cheatham was a native of Georgia as were her parents. Little is known of her early life, but she married H. G. Brooks on December 5, 1844. She joined the Methodist Church in 1850. She and her husband had a large family prior to coming to Prescott from Louisiana about 1880. The family was successful in Prescott and became prosperous, prominent business people. Mrs. Brooks died on February 19, 1892, after an illness of five weeks. She died of "slow fever" (brucellosis or undulant fever) that had developed after a bout of "Lagrippe" or the flu. She was a devout Methodist and respected in the community. A large crowd turned out for her funeral."

1120 - Lulu Green Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1860-1928

Born on August 17, 1860, in Louisiana, Lulu (sometimes written as Lula) Green was the daughter of parents from Georgia. On May 23, 1878, she married James Thompson Brooks in Louisiana. Their first child was born in Louisiana, but by 1880 the family was "

1125 - Mae Cary Muir Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1868-1934

The second wife of J. T. Brooks, Mae Muir married Brooks after his rancorous divorce from Lulu Brooks, his first wife. She remained in Prescott after her husband's death in 1906 and received her one-third dower interest in his estate. The ill feeling and lawsuits continued into the 1920s. She had relatives in Maryland and seemed to divide her time between Prescott and Maryland. She died on May 19, 1934. In her will she requested that after her death her sister Margaret, who was her heir and executrix of her estate, should take all the crochet and embroidery work that she had done and all the pictures of herself and her husband and burn them. She is buried beside her husband in De Ann. They had no children."

1130 - Malcolm Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1900-1924

Born on September 5, 1900, William Malcolm Brooks was the son of J. T. and Lulu Green Brooks. Malcolm Brooks spent most of his life in Prescott, but in the years prior to his death had lived in many different parts of the United States. He had just rece"

1135 - Marcus Charles Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1898-1937

Born on August 27, 1898, M. C. Brooks was the son of J. T. and Lulu Green Brooks. He spent much of his life in Prescott but died in Alexandria, Louisiana, on February 18, 1937, at the age of thirty-eight after a short illness. He was brought back to Prescott for burial. He is buried near his mother and other siblings. He was survived by two brothers and four sisters."

1140 - Robert L. Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1881-1909

Born on April 2, 1881, Bob Brooks was the son of J. T. and Lulu Brooks. He was born and reared in Prescott and belonged to one of the city's most important families. He had been in poor health for several weeks but only seemed to be seriously ill a few days before his death at his mother's home on March 12, 1909. As one of the older sons in the family, he had taken the lead in representing the interests of his siblings in the lawsuits surrounding his father's estate. He was a member of the Knights of Pythias lodge."

1145 - Robert Herman Brooks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1910-1912

The only child of Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Brooks and a grandson of Mrs. Lulu Brooks, this little boy died after a short illness. Cholera killed him. He died on July 2, 1912, four months and ten days shy of his second birthday."

1150 - Lewis William Brower
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1845-1919

Born on August 20, 1845, near Eaton, Preble County, Ohio, Lewis W. Brower was descended from Dutch settlers who came to New York in the early 1600s. His parents, George S. and Sarah Sarber Brower moved from Ohio to Crawfordsville, Indiana, where the fath"

1155 - Sara Reed Brower
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1845-1904

Born near Saratoga, Hempstead County, Arkansas, on July 10, 1845, Sara Reed was the daughter of Watson Reed. The Reeds were early settlers in Hempstead County. After the Civil War, Watson Reed moved his family to Brownsville, Texas. When visiting her brother near Homer in Claiborne Parish, Louisiana, Sarah met her future husband, and they were married at her brother's home on February 4, 1872. The Browers had two daughters, Florence born in Louisiana on December 24, 1872, and Kathleen, born in Prescott on June 30, 1886. Both are interred with other family members in the family plot."

1160 - Dr. Joseph Calvin Brown
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1842-1900

Born on April 10, 1842, in Talladega County, Alabama, J. C. Brown came to Arkansas with his parents in the 1850s. The family was traveling to Texas with their slaves when they were delayed by wet conditions in Union County, Arkansas. Impressed with the rich soil and abundant game, they settled at Three Creeks in Union County. Brown was educated there and went to Tulane in New Orleans for his medical training. He then married Lou Jane Fargason before going to Texas where he practiced medicine for several years. Declining health brought him back to Arkansas and Nevada County. He and his wife settled on a small farm near Prescott to raise their nine children. A Presbyterian elder, Brown died on March 15, 1900. His wife, Mrs. Lou J. Brown (1845-1912), who came to Arkansas in the 1850s with her grandparents in the same wagon train as her husband's family, is buried with him."

1165 - Nannie J. Bryan
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1855-1896

Born on March 16, 1855, Nannie J. Montgomery was a native of Arkansas and the daughter of parents from Alabama. She married Thomas S. Bryan of Missouri Township, Nevada County, Arkansas, on January 12, 1876. She was twenty and he was twenty-nine. This marriage must have been a second for T. S. Bryan. In the 1880 census, there were three children in the family: David W., 10; James O., 8; and Minnie, 3. Only Minnie was likely Nannie's daughter. T. S. Bryan worked as a photographer in Prescott and dealt in real estate. He and his wife developed a Bryan's Addition to Prescott. Nannie Bryan was not long-lived. She died a few days past her forty-first birthday on March 21, 1896. Her husband must have remarried, for he is buried in the New Section. "

1170 - Fred Burton
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1884

Born on August 21, 1884 and dead on November 16, 1884, this little boy did not live quite three months. He was the son of J. J. and Lena Burton. On March 10, 1886, the Nevada County Picayune reported the death of Mrs. Lena Burton, wife of J. J. Burton of Atlanta, Texas, of pleuro-pneumonia. She was the daughter of Mr. Thomas Thorborn of near Prescott. She was brought to Prescott for burial and, although there is no marker for her grave, she was likely interred near her infant son."

1175 - James Osgood Andrew Bush
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1854-1939

Named for a Methodist bishop, J.O.A. Bush was born in Pike County, Arkansas, on December 1, 1854, to parents who were devout members of the Methodist Church. His father James R. Bush took an interest in politics and was successively a Whig, then a Republ"

1180 - Judson Candler Bush
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1910-1952

Born on November 25, 1910, J. C. Bush was the son of J. O. A. Bush and his third wife Alice Hawkins. He graduated from Prescott High School and Henderson. He was a member of the Arkansas Bar and the Methodist Church. He practiced law with his father in Prescott but suffered from poor health and never really worked. At the time of his death, he was living in Hope with his sister, Mrs. Nell Martindale. He died on September 8, 1952. "

1185 - John Caldwell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1860-1934

Born in 1860 in Tennessee, John Caldwell was a timberman who came to Prescott in 1900. In 1910, he was living with his wife and child on East Third Street. He remained in Prescott until 1912. The last fifteen years of his life were spent at the Westside Hotel in Gurdon, the home of his daughter Mrs. Gus Jones. He died there on May 17, 1934. His body was returned to Prescott for burial beside his wife who had died there in 1911."

1190 - Mattie M. Caldwell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1862-1911

Born on November 21, 1862, Mattie Caldwell was the wife of John Caldwell. She and her husband produced a large family of three sons and four daughters that survived them. The details of her life are sketchy. She was a Baptist, and she died on September 5, 1911, in Prescott. At the time of her husband's death in 1934, their children were scattered across Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma and even to California."

1195 - Elizabeth A. Carrington
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1845-1901

Born in Arkansas on December 20, 1845, Elizabeth Montgomery was the daughter of David J. Montgomery and his wife Louisa Crabb, early citizens of Prescott and southwest Arkansas. She and her husband J. G. Carrington had a large family, but two children died young and are buried in De Ann. A son Jewel Carrington (1885-1900) and a daughter Jean Eloise Carrington (1895-1900) died in the same year. Mrs. Carrington did not long survive her children, dying on July 11, 1901. "

1200 - Jeremiah Greenleaf Carrington
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1841-1920

The Carrington Family came to Hempstead County, Arkansas, around 1860. During the Civil War, J. G. did not enlist in the Confederate Army. He drove a stage coach from Washington to El Dorado. He married Elizabeth A. Montgomery, and they had nine children. J. G. Carrington was an early citizen of Prescott who served as an alderman in 1891 and 1896. After his first wife's death in 1901, Carrington then married Clara Hightower and had a second family of six children. He was elected sexton of the De Ann Cemetery in 1917. He was also a Mason. He died at home of "a lingering illness" on July 9, 1920, leaving a family of seven sons and three daughters. All his children were in Prescott except a son in the Navy."

1205 - Patrick Cassidy
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1844-1887

A native of Ireland, Patrick Cassidy was born on December 19, 1844, and became an early citizen of Prescott. He operated a store and a saloon. On April 15, 1880, he was married to Mrs. Mattie McMahan by Father P. H. Garaghty. They had at least one son Henry Cassidy (1884-1888) who did not long survive his father. Cassidy's father Edward Cassidy (1817-1881), a native of County Donegal, Ireland, is also buried near his son. Patrick Cassidy served as an alderman in 1880, 1882 and 1884-86. He died of a fever after an illness of eight weeks. His funeral was in the Episcopal Church because the Catholic Church, which he had supported, had not yet been completed. He was apparently popular and respected. There was a large turnout for his funeral."

1210 - Norvelle White Cheatam
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1860-1896

Mary Norvelle White was born in Arkansas on December 17, 1860, the fourth child of William Richard White and his wife Mary Jane Clarke. She came to Hempstead County, now Nevada County, in 1865 and grew up in Falcon, Rosston and Prescott. On November 30, 1886, she married thirty-year-old E. M. Cheatam of Clarke County. After a ten-year marriage and one son, she died on September 14, 1896. She was a sister to Amelia White McRae, wife of Governor T. C. McRae."

1215 - William Eugene Cheatam
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1894-1910

Born on September 13, 1894, William was the son of Eugene M. Cheatam and his wife Norvelle White. The little boy was two years and one day old when his mother died. In 1897, the father, who was a businessman, moved to Texas where his son developed into a bright and studious young man. He did not, however, reach adulthood. He died in San Angelo, Texas, on February 28, 1910, and the body was brought back to Prescott for burial."

1220 - Goldie May Chappell Cheek
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1890-1909

Born on August 28, 1890, in Velden, Indiana, Goldie Chappell was the daughter of A. M. Chappell. The family relocated to Prescott. On January 9, 1911, she committed suicide by swallowing carbolic acid. She had married Walter Cheek on January 18, 1910. Over the year, they had lived together only a total of about two months. Her parents viewed the marriage as rash and were devastated by her death. She had tried suicide before, and a recent visit from her husband to resolve their differences had not proven successful. She is buried in the Chappell plot with only "Goldie" on her gravestone."

1225 - Dick Christopher
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1874-1935

Born on November 21, 1874, in Nevada County, Arkansas, Dick Christopher was a son of George Christopher and his first wife Lucinda O. Young. He spent most of his life in Prescott where he operated a meat market. He also owned a farm south of the city. On February 19, 1935, he was found dead in the rear of the Cloud and Gee Meat Market on West Second St. in Prescott. He had a bullet hole through his head. Local officers and the family agreed that his death was suicide."

1230 - George Christopher
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1879-1940

Born on November 29, 1879, in Nevada County, Arkansas, George Christopher was a son of George Christopher and his first wife Lucinda O. Young. He spent his entire life in Nevada County and was a well-known businessman throughout the county. He operated a grocery and feed business for many years and was active in civic affairs. He served as city marshal in 1901 and alderman in 1912-13. After the death of his first wife, he married Ola Andrews. Ola Andrews Christopher (1890-1931) and their baby son Christopher (1918) are also in the family plot. George Christopher died at the age of sixty after an illness of a few weeks on January 23, 1940. "

1235 - George Hamilton Christopher, Jr.
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1906-1992

George Hamilton Christopher, Jr., the son of George, Sr. by his first wife Maud Hamilton, founded the Christopher Oil Co. in 1937. Christopher was a major employer in Prescott in the late Depression, supplying fuel to the Army during the big military man"

1240 - Maud Hamilton Christopher
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1884-1909

Born on February 14, 1884, Maud Hamilton was the only daughter of James K. Hamilton and his wife Docia Worsham. She grew up largely in Prescott and married George Christopher in 1903. She had one son George Christopher, Jr., in 1906. She died on June 13, 1909."

1245 - Henry H. Cooper
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1871

This child was born on December 17, 1871, and died the next day. This grave is the first burial in the Old Section of De Ann. The baby was the son of W. H. Cooper, a native of Georgia, and his wife Isis, a native of Indiana. In the 1880 census, the family was still in Prescott. The father was a railroad hand. He and his wife had four children, ranging in age from twelve to two."

1250 - Fannie P. McKenzie Crawford
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1877-1951

Born on June 24, 1877, in Prescott, Fannie Pittman was the daughter of John Marshall Pittman and his wife Jennie Carr. She came from one of the most prominent and influential families in Prescott. She married Henry B. McKenzie, the Prescott attorney and"

1255 - George F. Cress
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1869-1959

Born on March 27, 1869, in the Midwest, George Cress was the son of Jeremiah and Julia Thomas Cress. He and A. H. Smith, his brother-in-law, started the Prescott Ice Company in 1909. In 1911, they installed a modern bottling plant and an ice cream manufacturing department the next year. They produced pure artificial ice, bottled drinks and plain and fancy ice creams. Their products included Eskimo Pies, Orange Crush and Arkola-an Arkansas soft drink. They delivered their products by truck to the surrounding area. Cress was president of the company. Cress also owned the phone company in Prescott. In the late 1930s, Cress and his wife moved to Little Rock. Lillian T. Cress (1876-1957) died on February 3, 1957. Her husband died on January 1, 1959. Both were buried at De Ann where relatives had been interred many years before."

1260 - Jeremiah Cress
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1832-1907

Cress was seventy-five and had been in Prescott only about one year at the time of his death, but his passing was noted. He had money and had invested his capital in the town after coming to Prescott from Effingham, Kansas. The Prescott paper called his life "useful and successful". His children also contributed to the community. His son George F. Cress and his son-in-law A. H. Smith started an important business in Prescott. At the time of his death on April 19, 1907, Cress was suffering from "dropsy", congestive heart failure."

1265 - Julia A. Cress
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1837-1917

Julia Ann Thomas was born in Preston County, West Virginia, on September 28, 1837, the youngest member of a large family. The family went west, and she married Jeremiah Cress at Pilotsburg, Washington County, Iowa in July 1857. They had a family of nine children, some of whom died before their parents. Her daughter Ada Ann died at seventeen in Bayard, Iowa, in 1892. Her grown children were widely scattered. She was returning from a visit to her son in Denver, Colorado, with her daughter Mrs. A. H. Smith when she died suddenly at the home of another daughter in Effingham, Kansas. The family was Methodist Episcopal."

1270 - Roscoe E. Cress
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1898-1918

Roscoe Cress was the son of Mr. and Mrs. George F. Cress of Prescott. He was attending the Student Army Training Corps of the University of Arkansas when he became ill with influenza. He had been sick for two weeks when his condition suddenly worsened. He died at the Base Hospital of the State University Cantonment, another young victim of the Great Influenza Pandemic. His body was returned to Prescott for burial, but because of restrictions issued by health officers regarding public gatherings, no friends could be invited to the funeral."

1275 - John A. Davis
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1866-1958

A native of Iowa, Davis came to Prescott in 1899 to work in the lumber industry. He was bookkeeper for George W. Howell Lumber Company and the Ozan Lumber Company. In 1906, he organized the Junction City Lumber Company which he owned and operated for years. The company's yard and plant covered eleven acres, and it manufactured Arkansas yellow pine lumber only. Davis was a charter member of Prescott Rotary, a Methodist and an alderman on the City Council from 1910 to 1922. John Davis made a great deal of money and had a lavish life style, but he suffered business reverses with a downswing in the market for yellow pine. He was unable to hold on to his wealth and died a poor man on January 10, 1958."

1280 - Leo W. Cox Davis
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1874-1954

Born on February 6, 1874, Leo Cox of Prescott married John A. Davis on January 17, 1900. She was very active in the Methodist Church. The Leo Cox Davis Women's Bible class was named for her. The Davises had a family but lost some of their children. John A. Davis, Jr. (1902-1903) lived a little more than a year. Robert Paul Davis (1908-1918) was not yet ten when he died. He had been in poor health but then died suddenly. Both boys were buried in De Ann. Through the deaths of children and business reverses, Leo Davis remained with her husband. She died on August 12, 1954."

1285 - John Delahoyde
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1830-1896

John Delahoyde moved his family from Iowa to Prescott in 1881. He had an interest with J. A. Ansley, the Greenbacker/Union Labor party leader, in the publication of the Prescott Dispatch, a third-party newspaper. He was an attorney and abstractor, land agent for the Iron Mountain Railroad and an officer in the Prescott and Northwestern Railroad when it was chartered in October 1890. His son John Delahoyde, Jr. (1869-1884) , who died young, is buried at De Ann. The father himself died on January 1, 1896. Mrs. Laura V. Delahoyde (1843-1927), his wife, remained in Prescott until her death on October 11, 1927, although her children moved back to Iowa or to other states."

1290 - August S. Derks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1904-1909

The death of this child shocked the city of Prescott. Born on September 22, 1904, he was the son of Augustinius and Relder Derks. The family apparently lived near the Ozan Lumber Company on the western edge of Prescott as did other employees of the company. Two women were out with a group of eight children near Steele's Creek, west of Prescott. Young August was in the group and was attempting to fish in the creek when he fell in. One of the women, Mrs. Clint Sandridge-wife of an employee of the carpenter gang, plunged in to save the boy. She succeeded in getting a hold on him, but, inexplicably, she started for the opposite bank in stead of returning the way she had come. She got into deeper water, panicked and, before the others could help them or go for help, both she and the boy drowned. She left a husband and three children. This terrible accident occurred on May 10, 1909."

1295 - Augustinius Derks
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1852-1920

Augustinius Derks probably came to Prescott to work for the Ozan Lumber Company. Derks worked as the head of the carpenter gang for the lumber company. He was already forty-five when he married twenty-year-old Mrs. Relda Hicks of Prescott on January 20, 1895. He and his wife lost their only son in 1909, but they had two daughters. Derks died at the age of seventy in the Prescott hospital on August 27, 1920. His wife Relder L. Derks (1875-1922) died at her home on July 10, 1922. They were Catholics."

1300 - Adam Frederick
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1859-1889

Adam Frederick was a German immigrant. In 1880, he was boarding with a German family living in Missouri Township near Prescott. There were numerous immigrant families in the immediate vicinity. People from Germany, England, Ireland, Sweden and Canada gave Prescott diversity. Frederick was Prescott's first barber. Father M. E. Kelly of the Roman Catholic Church married Adam and nineteen-year-old Katie Popp in August 1881. They had a family but lost at least one son who was buried in De Ann. Carl Frederick (1883-1886) did not reach his fourth birthday. His father was not quite thirty when he died on July 20, 1889. There was a good turnout for his funeral. He was respected in Prescott."

1305 - Wesley L. Gaines
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1827-1896

Gaines was an early citizen of Prescott and the town boot and shoemaker. A native of South Carolina, he had served as a 2nd Lieutenant in Co. F, 19th Alabama Infantry, CSA during the Civil War. He married Sarah Turnage, a native of Georgia, and they had had a family of five children by 1880. All had been born in Alabama from twenty-two-year-old John to seven-year-old Sarah, placing the family's arrival at Prescott sometime between 1873 and 1880. Gaines died in 1896."

1310 - Rev. George A. Gardner
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1831-1891

Born in Warren County, Georgia, Rev. Gardner was the son of Priscilla Beall and Sterling Gardner. He was well-educated and attended Emory in Atlanta. He married Marie Antoinette White in 1852, and they had nine children. He served in the Civil War and "

1315 - Edwin Franklin Gee
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1853?-1941

Born on October 1, 1853 or 1854, in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, E. F. Gee was the son of John H. and Rachel Cobb Gee. He came to Arkansas with his family in the 1850s and was in Prescott as a young man in the earliest days of the town's existence. He hauled th"

1320 - Ethel Brooks Gee
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1882-1936

Born on October 2, 1882, Ethel Brooks was the daughter of J. T. Brooks and his wife Lulu Green. She grew up in Prescott in a prosperous family. Her father was a merchant and cotton buyer. Her parents' bitter divorce brought her into conflict with her father, but she and her husband Imon Gee went into business with him for a time. She lost an infant son in 1911, but her husband and two sons survived her when she died at the age of fifty-three. Her death occurred on July 29, 1936. Her husband Imon Gee (1882-1974) outlived his wife many years and is buried beside her."

1325 - John H. Gee
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1813-1880

Born on June 21, 1813, John Henry Gee was the third child and oldest son of Jeremiah Davis Gee and Mary Cornelius Gee of Anderson County, South Carolina, then in the Pendleton District. As a young man he became a trader among the Choctaw Indians then liv"

1330 - Rachel G. Gee
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1816-1889

Born on January 1, 1816, in Greenville, South Carolina, Rachel Grace Cobb was the daughter of Wilson Cobb, a planter. In the 1830s, the Cobb family had moved to Alabama where Rachel met her future husband, John H. Gee. According to family lore, young Rachel was sewing in an upstairs parlor when an elderly slave woman in the family ran upstairs and called out, "Miss Rachel, the handsomest red-headed man you ever saw is coming up the lane on a great white horse. You must go down and meet him!" She did just that. They married, had ten children and lived in Alabama, Mississippi and Arkansas. Rachel Gee died on May 18, 1889."

1335 - Sidney T. Gee
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1893-1954

Sidney Gee was the son of E. F. and Rena Gee. Before World War I, he worked as a butcher. During the war, he served as a private in Company K, 59th Arkansas Infantry. When he enlisted, he was twenty-four years old and stood 5'8" with grey eyes and brown hair. He was honorably discharged at Camp Pike, August 14, 1919, and resumed civilian life. Apparently, he never married. He died at the Veteran's Hospital in Little Rock on September 3, 1954."

1340 - William Gee
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1851-1921

Born on August 31, 1851, in Mississippi, William Gee was the son of John H. Gee and his wife Rachel Cobb. Like his brother E. F. Gee, he went into business in early Prescott. He married Nancy Temperance Wilson of Boughton on October 21, 1875. He served as an alderman from 1886-89. In 1880, he and his wife lost a child. Their daughter Allie Gee (1878-1895) is also buried in De Ann. In 1912, Gee sold his interest in William Gee and Son to a relative. He died on November 26, 1921. His wife died on September 25, 1931."

1345 - James M. Gill
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1823-1896

Gill was a native of South Carolina and may be the same James M. Gill who bought a substantial amount of land in Bradley County, Arkansas, in the years immediately before the Civil War. He was the son of John Gaston Gill and his wife Anna Rebecca Gill. John Gaston Gill bought large tracts of land in Nevada, Clark and Ouachita Counties in the 1830s. Like his younger brother John Thaddeus Whitfield Gill, who had resided in what is now Nevada County since the early 1850s, J. M. Gill came to Arkansas with slaves to be a planter. By 1880, he was farming in Nevada County with his family. He died there on December 15, 1896."

1350 - Julia Gill
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1837-1921

A native of South Carolina, Julia Gill was the wife of John M. Gill and a member of the old planter class. She too was a Gill and her husband's cousin. She was in the Prescott area during the early years of the town. Her husband died and was buried in Prescott as was their daughter Narcie Gill (1860-1890). The Gill families, both those of J. M. and J. T. W. Gill, remained in Prescott until the early 1900s and then moved to northeast Texas which was enjoying a farming boom. Julia Gill went to Texas to live with relatives about 1909. She died at her daughter's home in Telephone, Fannin County, Texas, on June 18, 1921, and was returned to Prescott for burial with her husband and daughter. "

1355 - James T. Gossett
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1852-1908

James T. Gossett was born in Mississippi on November 17, 1852, the son of Vandyke Gossett and Polly Hatley. He moved to Arkansas in 1870 and was associated with William, Henry and Silas Martin and Alex Vaughn in surveying the right-of-way for the Cairo a"

1360 - William Adair Gossett
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1897-1937

Gossett was the son of J. T. Gossett and his second wife Mollie W. Adair. Little is known of his life. At the time of his death, his home was with his wife and two children in Lubbock, Texas, but he was found dead in a Little Rock rooming house. His family buried him with his father in Prescott."

1365 - Mills Graffo
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1936-1943

Born on April 20, 1936, Mills Graffo was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Baby Graffo, members of a band of Gypsies. The seven-year-old child became ill and was a patient at the Cora Donnell Hospital in Prescott. The Prescott paper reported that the birth of a blonde male child was regarded as a good omen by the Gypies. If the child died, the band would be cursed. The band anxiously awaited news of the child's welfare. The members of the band spoke broken English and were largely of the Catholic faith. The boy died on March 10, 1943. The name on his tombstone is "Miller Groffo"."

1370 - Carrie Tedford Greeson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1871-1949

Born on February 10, 1871, Carrie Tedford was the daughter of James Tedford and his wife Stella Allen of Brookhaven Mississippi. She came to Prescott as a music teacher in 1891 and married M. W. Greeson on October 18, 1893. In that same year, she joined the Methodist Church in Prescott and played an active role in it until her last illness began. She promoted the Women's Missionary Society and was its president for years. In addition to being the mother of six children, Mrs. Greeson was a club woman, being active in musical and literary circles and all worthwhile civic organizations. She died on March 27, 1949."

1375 - Hartwell Greeson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1819-1910

Born in Bedford County, Tennessee on September 18, 1819, Hartwell Greeson was the son of Henry Greeson and Mary Elizabeth Cook. He became a devout Methodist in 1840. He married Flora Harrison in 1842. In 1851, the Greeson Family and the James Harrison "

1380 - Hartwell Greeson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1895-1936

Born on May 9, 1895, Hartwell Greeson was the son Martin W. and Carrie T. Greeson."

1385 - Louisa Harrison Greeson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1842-1923

Born on August 8, 1842, in Tennessee, Louisa Harrison was the daughter of Rev. James Steele Harrison and Mary Murchison and the second wife of Hartwell Greeson. She was the sister of his first wife and had been married to Silas Edward Hatchett who had also died. She and her former brother-in-law put their two families together, marrying in 1864 or 1865. They then had another four children. One of them was Martin White Greeson who became an attorney and a prominent citizen of Prescott, Arkansas. She moved to Prescott with her husband in 1895 and remained there until her death on February 17, 1923."

1390 - Martin White Greeson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1866-1949

M. W. Greeson was born on November 7, 1866, on a farm near Clinton, Arkansas, the son of Hartwell and Louisa Greeson, natives of Tennessee. In 1867, the family moved into Clinton where M. W. Greeson was reared and educated at the Clinton Academy. He gra"

1395 - Myrtle H. Greeson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1890-1949

Born on December 4, 1890, at Bodcaw, Arkansas, Myrtle Herring was the daughter of Phineas Herring and Mary Jane Murrah. The Herring family had come to what is now Nevada County from North Carolina in the spring of 1848. Phineas Herring was a farmer and merchant in Bodcaw before he moved his family to Prescott and established a residence there. Myrtle Herring married Hartwell Greeson, and they had a daughter. After her husband's death, Mrs. Greeson taught in the elementary schools and served as principal of the primary and junior high schools. She was also active in the Methodist Church, taught its church schools and was the first president of the Wesleyan Service Guild. She died after a long illness on January 27, 1949."

1400 - John W. Gunter
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1855-1880

John W. Gunter is listed with his wife Sarah and one-year-old daughter Annie in Bois D'Arc Township, Hempstead County, Arkansas, in the 1880 census. Gunter was a young doctor who was a native of Alabama. The story of his death is not very clear, but the large number of deaths in 1880 and the early 1880s suggests some kind of epidemic in Prescott. According to family lore, he had gone to Prescott to teach school and became ill. He died on December 2, 1880."

1405 - John B. Gunter
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1833-1880

John B. Gunter is listed with his wife Margaret A. in Bois D'Arc Township, Hempstead County, Arkansas, in the 1880 census. He and his wife were both natives of Georgia. He was probably the father of John W. Gunter. Either he tried to go to the son's aid in Prescott or the son tried to help him when he became ill. The result was that they both died. John B. Gunter died on December 10, 1880. There does not seem to have been an attempt to return them to their homes in nearby Hempstead County. Quick burial, even in the winter, might suggest an infectious disease. These men are reputed to be members of the family that founded the Gunter Lumber Company."

1410 - Dr. Adam Guthrie
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1864-1912

Born on December 30, 1864, Adam Guthrie was a physician. He was raised in Van Buren County, Arkansas, and educated by his father. He was a man of learning who was versed in Latin and Greek as well as English literature. At the time of his death from "apoplexy" on February 15, 1912, Dr. Guthrie had been in Prescott for twelve years. He was a member of the Knights Templar. He was well regarded in Prescott and had a large funeral. He was connected by marriage to the Greeson family. His wife and children remained in Prescott and became one of the most prominent families, operating the Guthrie Drugstore for many years."

1415 - James Guthrie
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1830-1913

Born on April 7, 1830, James Guthrie was an elderly man when he came to Prescott to live with his nephew, Dr. Adam Guthrie. He was accidentally killed about 5:30 on Saturday evening, August 15, 1913, at the corner of West Front Street and Elm by a team of runaway horses. The horses were harnessed to a buggy belonging to A. P. Davis when they became frightened. They dashed up Elm, ran across the railroad tracks and into the telegraph poles near the railroad track. The elderly Guthrie either did not see them or thought the telegraph poles would protect him. Guthrie received a severe blow to his forehead which crushed his skull, and he died within minutes. Mr. Davis was thrown from the buggy and badly bruised but survived. Since his nephew's death in 1912, the elderly uncle had continued to live with his deceased nephew's widow and children."

1420 - Sarah Greeson Guthrie
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1869-1942

Born on April 9, 1869, in Clinton, Arkansas, Sarah Greeson was the daughter of Hartwell Greeson and his second wife Louisa Harrison Greeson and a sister to Martin W. Greeson. She married Dr. Adam Guthrie, and they moved to Prescott in 1900. They had a family of four children and were members of the Methodist Church. She outlived her husband thirty years, dying at Prescott after a long illness on June 3, 1942."

1425 - Elizabeth Arabella Hale
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1870-1892

Lizzie Hale died from "consumption" (tuberculosis). She had taken "Lagrippe" (influenza) after Christmas in 1891. It turned into tuberculosis, and she was forced to give up her teaching position at the Tom Allen School, Prescott's first high school. The Nevada County Picayune lauded her as "one of our noblest young ladies, cultured and refined and a pure Christian." She died on August 18, 1892. "

1430 - Bettie Wells Hamby
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1869-1950

Born on January 24, 1869, Bettie Wells was the daughter of Elijah Wells of Wallaceburg, Hempstead County, Arkansas. At the age of eighteen, she got her father's permission to marry thirty-four-year-old C. C. Hamby, becoming his third wife on September 14, 1887. The Hambys had four children. Helen Hamby (1893-1898) did not reach her fifth birthday. Two other children died as young adults. Only their son Wells B. Hamby (1896-1977) survived both his parents, spent his life in Prescott and lived in the family home. He is buried in the New Section of De Ann with his wife. Bettie W. Hamby died on June 6, 1950."

1435 - C. C. Hamby
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1851-1921

Born in Calhoun County, Mississippi, on September 14, 1851, Christopher Columbus Hamby helped his mother farm while his father served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War. He left home at nineteen to work as a brakeman on the Mississippi Central "

1440 - Elizabeth Hamby
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1900-1924

Elizabeth Hamby was the daughter of C. C. Hamby and his third wife Bettie Wells Hamby. Born on April 9, 1900, she grew up in Prescott to young adulthood but suffered from a heart defect. She died at her mother's home on October 17, 1924. "

1445 - Isabella Carolina Blake Hamby
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1863-1886

Born on February 6, 1863, Isabella Carolina was the daughter of W. J. Blake and his wife Emily Terissa Peden of Jackson Township, then Ouachita County, Arkansas. The family moved to Prescott in 1877. Isabella became the second wife of C. C. Hamby on February 6, 1881. On September 24, 1886, she gave birth to a son, Randolph Peden Hamby (1886-1969). The family had moved to Texarkana. Isabella died there on December 29, 1886, of pneumonia complicated by heart trouble. Her body was returned to Prescott for burial, and her parents took the baby to raise. He grew up to become a court stenographer, lawyer, amateur photographer, local historian and mayor of Prescott from 1912-1948. He is buried in the New Section of De Ann."

1450 - Leonard C. Hamby
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1891-1918

Born on June 25, 1891, Leonard Hamby was the son of C. C. Hamby and his third wife Bettie Wells Hamby. Leonard joined the army sometime in early 1918 and trained at Camp Pike, Arkansas. Later, he moved to Chicago with his unit. He became critically ill, and his family was notified by telegraph of the seriousness of his condition. His mother rushed to Chicago but arrived a few hours after his death on October 14, 1918. Leonard Hamby may have been a victim of the Great Spanish Influenza Pandemic that killed twenty million people worldwide in 1918 and 1919. It often first appeared in military camps and killed the young. Though he was not involved in combat, he was the first soldier from Nevada County to die while serving in the armed forces during World War I and was so honored. Acting Mayor C. L. Tompkins issued a proclamation asking businesses in Prescott to close during his funeral."

1455 - Horace A. Hamilton
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1857-1924

Born on Christmas Eve, 1857, in Sumner County, Tennessee, Horace Anderson Hamilton was the son of Ashley Stanfield Hamilton and his wife Ann Kirkpatrick. H. A. Hamilton was reared in Sumner County and came to Arkansas about 1877 where he was associated w"

1460 - Joseph Kirkpatrick Hamilton
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1849-1930

Born on October 23, 1849, J. K. Hamilton was the son of Ashley Stanfield Hamilton and his wife Ann Kirkpatrick. He married Docia Worsham of near Hendersonville, Tennessee, on March 28, 1883. They had one child only, a daughter named Maud. She grew up to marry George Christopher and died young in 1909, leaving one son. Hamilton joined the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Prescott in 1885 and became an elder in the church in 1890. He served as an alderman in 1884, 1890 and 1894-5. He remained active in business until just a few years before his death on October 4, 1930. His death resulted from a paralytic stroke."

1465 - Martha H. Hamilton
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1836-1881

Born on August 21, 1836, Martha Daniels was a native of Alabama. She married Perry C. Hamilton in Itawamba County, Mississippi, on August 5, 1852. A few years later, they came to Arkansas and were early residents of Prescott. Their young daughter Ada Lee Hamilton (1873-1878) is one of the early burials in De Ann. Shortly after she and her husband gave the land for De Ann Cemetery, Mrs. Hamilton died on January 13, 1881."

1470 - Perry Clark Hamilton
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1832-1908

Born on February 18, 1832, in Jackson County, Alabama, P. C. Hamilton was the son of Russel Hamilton and Margaret Green, natives of North Carolina. He married in 1852 in Mississippi and moved to Hempstead County, Arkansas, in 1857, settling near present-"

1475 - Sallie Montgomery Hamilton
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1860-1918

Born on October 3, 1860, Sallie Montgomery was the daughter of William Montgomery and his wife Martha Payne. She married Horace A. Hamilton in 1885 and came with him to Arkansas. They became the parents of three sons: William Werner, Joseph Roland and Rodney Stanfield. Mrs. Hamilton's sons also spent their lives in Prescott. Mrs. Hamilton died on July 20, 1918."

1480 - Dora L. Harrell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1862-1933

Born on May 3, 1862, at High Point, North Carolina, Dora Thornton was the daughter of Captain and Mrs. S. C. Thornton. The family moved to Indiana after the Civil War. On July 31, 1881, she married Phillip S. Harrell, and they moved to early Prescott on January 29, 1885. Her husband and his brother had a blacksmith and woodwork business. Later, he was in the grocery business and an officer in the Nevada County Hardware. Mrs. Harrell was one of the organizers of the De Ann Cemetery Association and on September 14, 1906, was elected the first vice-president of the Association. The Harrells had four children, two of whom died young. One child-George T. Harrell (1886-1890)--is buried in De Ann. Dora Harrell died on September 13, 1933, at her son's home in Hope and was buried in De Ann. She was a member of the Christian Church. "

1485 - Joseph Rankin Harrell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1849-1928

Born on November 12, 1849, in Guilford County, North Carolina near Greensboro, J. R. Harrell was the son of William Henry Harrell and his wife Phoebe Rhodes. With the coming of the Civil War, the older sons in the family-William Jr., Thomas and Louis-joined the Confederate Army. William and Thomas survived, but Louis was never heard from again. At the close of the war, William Harrell did what many did: he moved his family out of the South to Columbus, Bartholomew County, Indiana. J. R. Harrell came to the new railroad town of Prescott as a young man. First, he had a wagon and saddle shop. Later, he added gun smeltering and finally bicycle repairing. On April 19, 1882, he married Agnes Viola Hayes at Prescott. They had five children. J. R. Harrell died on July 2, 1928. "

1490 - Philip S. Harrell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1856-1932

Born on February 8, 1856 near Greensboro, North Carolina, P. S. Harrell was a brother to J. R. Harrell and moved with his parents, four brothers and two sisters to Indiana after the Civil War. The father died shortly after the family arrived there. P. S. Harrell lived there for about twenty years until he joined his brother in Nevada County, Arkansas, on January 29, 1885. With his brother, he ran a blacksmith and wagon shop until it burned in 1900. He opened a new shop on West 3rd but later sold out and bought stock in the Nevada County Hardware. P. S. Harrell served as an alderman in Prescott from 1895-6 and in 1904. He died on March 21, 1932. "

1495 - Robert C. Harrell
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1897-1940

Born on July 19, 1897, in Prescott, R. C. Harrell was the son of Philip S. Harrell and his wife Dora Thornton. In World War I, Harrell served as a corporal in the Eleventh Regiment of the United States Marine Corps. In the latter years of his life, Harrell made his home in Hope where he was a member of the American Legion. He married and had a daughter and a son. He died in a Hot Springs Hospital on November 17, 1940, and was buried in De Ann."

1500 - Mary Annie Hatley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1871-1932

Annie Hatley was the daughter of W. A. Hatley and his wife Virginia Capps Watson. She came to Prescott in April 1876. Born into an educated, well-to-do family, she attended Cumberland University in Lebanon, Tennessee, her father's alma mater. She taught for several years in a Presbyterian College in Weatherford, Texas, taught art at Arkansas Cumberland College at Clarksville-now the College of the Ozarks, and taught English at Prescott High School for several years. She died after a short illness in March 1932. "

1505 - Wiley Andrew Hatley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1843-1930

Son of John Hatley and his wife Mary Ann Royston, W. A. Hatley was born on Christmas Day, 1843, in Tennessee. The family moved to Ouachita County, Arkansas, now Nevada County, in the following year. W. A. Hatley had a sister Annie who was born in Arkans"

1510 - Wiley Dixon Hatley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1885-1912

Born on September 4, 1885, in Prescott, this young married man was the son of W. A. Hatley and a junior partner in his father's real estate firm of W. A. Hatley and Co. After a brief illness, he succumbed to one of the great killers of the era-pneumonia. He died at the family home on West Front Street on February 2, 1912."

1515 - Wiley Vernon Hatley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1906-1916

Born on October 23, 1906, Vernon Hatley was the son of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Hatley. He died at the family home after an illness of several months. He suffered from an "abscess on the brain" and two operations in Little Rock did not save this boy from death."

1520 - William C. Hatley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1830-1896

Born on December 13, 1830, in Tennessee, W. C. Hatley was an early settler in Jackson Township, Ouachita County, Arkansas, now Nevada County. He received land patents on property along the Old Military Road from Camden to Washington in the 1850s but was "

1525 - William Miller Hatley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1880-1909

Born on January 30, 1880, William Hatley was the son of Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Hatley. He was a prominent young businessman in Prescott. He had been ill for a long time with an unnamed disease, but his death came suddenly on January 18, 1909."

1530 - Hettie Hawkins
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1864-1946

Born on August 14, 1864 in Iowa, Hettie B. Bown was the daughter of William and Susan Vancil Bown. Her mother returned to Illinois after her father's death, remarried in 1878 and moved to Prescott with her family in 1880 . On November 16, 1882, Hettie Bown married Ivan Hawkins in Prescott. They had five children, three of whom reached adulthood. Mrs. Hawkins was a devout Baptist and died in Prescott on March 6, 1946. Her son Floyd William Hawkins (1884-1964) is also buried in the family plot."

1535 - Ivan Hawkins
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1857-1921

Born in Camden in 1857, Thomas Ivan Hawkins was the son of John and Susan Hunter Hawkins, natives of Mississippi. He came to Prescott in 1873 and worked as the desk clerk in his father's hotel. Later, he was a successful farmer, a Democrat politically and a Baptist. He married and had a family of five children. He died in Prescott in 1921."

1540 - John Hawkins
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1821-1887

Born in Mississippi on July 8, 1821, he married in 1841 and moved to Arkansas that same year. He settled his family at Camden in Ouachita County. He was a carpenter and farmer. In 1873, the family moved to Nevada County, started a restaurant in a tent along the railroad tracks and then opened a hotel. In 1877, Hawkins served as a Prescott alderman. In 1880, fifty-nine-year-old John Hawkins was listed in the census as a hotelkeeper. A devout Methodist and one of the founders of the First Methodist Church in Prescott, he died in the new railroad town on July 30, 1887."

1545 - Susan Hawkins
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1821-1911

Born on September 1, 1821, Susan Hunter was a native of Bledsoe County, Mississippi. On January 21, 1841, she married John Hawkins. They had a family of eleven children, eight of whom reached adulthood and established their own families. She spent the bulk of her life in Camden and Prescott. After living in Prescott from 1873 until 1900, she returned to Camden where she died on October 21, 1911, of old age and paralysis. Her son Ivan brought her body back to Prescott for burial with her husband."

1550 - D. Rector Kirkland
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1851-1881

Born in Alabama, Daniel Rector Kirkland was one of the many young people who died in Prescott in the early 1880s. In 1880, he was living in Prescott with his wife Annie, their five-year-old daughter Maud and his twenty-three-year-old sister Emma. Maud had been born in Alabama, so the family had come to Prescott sometime between 1875 and 1880. Kirkland was a watchmaker. He died on April 20, 1881, at the age of twenty-nine."

1555 - David L. Latourette
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1823-1885

D. L. Latourette came to Prescott from New Jersey in 1881. He was involved in banking with his son-in-law Mr. Driggs. Their bank, Driggs and Company, was the first bank in Prescott. He was a leading member of the Baptist Church in Prescott and served as president of the local Bible Society. He died on September 22, 1885, a week after suffering a paralytic stroke."

1560 - Elva Bush Lock
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1905-1926

Born on February 10, 1905, Elva Bush was the daughter of J. O. A. Bush and Alice Bush. She married Floyd Lock of Brinkley in September 1905. She died at the Cora Donnell Hospital in Prescott on December 5, 1926, after a brief illness. Her early death was a great shock to the community."

1565 - Romeo L. Lowdermilk
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1869-1948

Born on September 30, 1869, at Moscow, then Hempstead County, Romeo Luther Lowdermilk (he preferred "Rome L. Lowdermilk") was the third of eight children, four sons and four daughters, born to John Elliott Lowdermilk and his wife Sarah Elizabeth Brown. J"

1570 - Edna M. Lowe
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1879-1912

Born on April 4, 1879, Edna Lowe was the daughter of Jeremiah and Julia Cress. Little is known of her life. Her husband was H. V. Lowe, and she lived at Waldron, Scott County, Arkansas, for a time. She died in Ramona, Oklahoma, of tuberculosis of the spine. Her body was returned to Prescott for burial where she had family and friends."

1575 - Clarence W. McGill
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1850-1883

Born in South Carolina, Clarence W. McGill was the son of M. W. and S. E. McGill. He was living in Ouachita County on December 17, 1874, when he married Alice A. Ross, a native of Arkansas . They came to early Prescott where McGill worked as a photographer. Elected to succeed George W. Johnson who resigned, he served as Prescott's marshal from 1877-1880. He and his wife had three children in 1875, 1878 and 1883 before McGill's death on November 7, 1883. He left an estate of about $300 total for his family."

1580 - Henry Bonner McKenzie
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1876-1929

Born on September 17, 1876, H. B. McKenzie came to Prescott as a boy and lived there for the last thirty-seven years of his life. He began his law practice there in 1900 and was involved in local politics. He was elected alderman in 1903 and qualified "

1585 - Jennie Pledger McMillion
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1864-1900

Born on May 23, 1864, in Arkansas, Jennie Pledger was one of the younger children of Francis Oliver Pledger and his wife Mary, both natives of Georgia. By 1880, the family was in Prescott where the father worked as a saddler. On October 9, 1883, nineteen-year-old Jennie married twenty-eight-year-old Ira E. McMillion of Little Rock. Little is known of the years of her married life. She died in Prescott at the age of thirty-six on July 23, 1900."

1590 - Amelia A. White McRae
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1855-1947

Born on October 6, 1855, in Decatur, Alabama, Amelia Ann White was the oldest child of William R. White and his wife Mary Jane Clarke. She moved to Arkansas with her parents when she was four. The family lived at Pine Bluff, in Cleveland County, at Falc"

1595 - Christopher C. McRae
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1854-1882

Born on September 3, 1854, at Mount Holly, Union County, Arkansas, Christopher Columbus McRae was one of the five children of Duncan L. McRae and his wife Mary Ann Chipman. He grew up on the family farm and followed his older brother to Prescott in Nevada County. On January 1, 1880, he married nineteen-year-old Ella Hayes. He served as deputy sheriff in Nevada County. On July 1, 1882, he died of an unknown cause and was buried at De Ann. His wife was pregnant at the time of his death and gave birth to his son Christopher McRae, Jr. (1883-1884) several months after the father's death. The boy did not live long, however. He died on June 1, 1884, and was buried near his father."

1600 - Mary Ann Chipman McRae
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1830-1897

Born on July 30, 1830, in Georgia, Mary Ann Chipman was the daughter of Thomas Chipman. The family moved to Union County, Arkansas, where they became a well-known early family. Eighteen-year-old Mary Ann married thirty-three-year-old Duncan L. McRae at "

1605 - Thomas Chipman McRae
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1851-1929

Born on December 21, 1851, at Mount Holly, Arkansas, Thomas Chipman McRae was the son of Duncan L. McRae and his wife Mary Ann Chipman and the oldest of their five children. The McRaes were a family of devout Presbyterians who had come to the area in the"

1610 - James Madden, M. D.
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1814-1884

Little is known about James Madden's early life. Born in Norfolk, Virginia, on February 3, 1814, he studied medicine. He came to Arkansas in the 1850s or possibly earlier. By 1859, he had acquired over three hundred acres of land along the present-day b"

1615 - Mary Ann Royston Madden
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1822-1906

Born on May 22, 1822, in Hardeman County, Tennessee, Mary Ann Royston first married John Hatley and had a son Wiley Andrew Hatley in Tennessee and a daughter Annie after their removal to Arkansas in the 1840s. Her husband bought land in what is now south"

1620 - Laura Olive Mowl Marlar
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1861-1926

Born in England on February 8, 1861, Laura Olive Davis probably came to Prescott with family members in the late 1880s or early 1890s. She was probably married to her first husband Mr. Mowl at this time. Nothing is known of him. Apparently her first hu"

1625 - Nat Martin
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1875-1931

Born on November 22, 1875, Nat Martin was the son of Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Martin. While still in his twenties, Martin was elected county clerk of Nevada and served in this position from 1901-08. After he left public office, he went into real estate and became interested in oil production. On March 3, 1931, he was returning from looking at a test well near Falcon with Judge A. M. Denman and J. M. Stripling of Prescott. Their car was hit by a Cotton Belt Railroad passenger train near Waldo, and Martin was killed instantly. The train that hit them took the three men to Texarkana. Denman and Stripling survived, but Martin was brought back to Prescott for burial."

1630 - Adra Lillian Brooks Mason
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1879-1903

Born on May 29, 1879, in Louisiana, Adra Lillian Brooks came to Prescott as a child with her parents J. T. and Lulu Brooks. She was the oldest child in a large family, one of the most prominent families in Prescott. Her father was a well-to-do merchant, banker and real estate owner. At the age of twenty, she married C. H. Mason of Prescott on March 28, 1901. She was his second wife, his first wife having died less than a year earlier. Her own parents' marriage would end in a bitter separation that same year and in a divorce early in 1902. In the midst of all this family turmoil, Adra Lillian Mason died on December 28, 1903, at the age of twenty-four."

1635 - Ura Robinson Mason
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1872-1900

Born on April 5, 1872, Ura Robinson was the first wife of C. H. Mason. She died young on August 13, 1900."

1640 - Anders Monson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1841-1936

Born in Herb

1645 - Mattie Griffith Monson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1843-1885

Martha Fisher Griffith was the wife of Anders Monson. She fell in love with him at first sight. The tall, handsome Swede who could play the violin caught her heart. Their courtship was carried on through an interpreter, and they were married at Okolona, Mississippi, on November 9, 1871. They had four children before Mattie's death in 1885. Their son Anders Monson, Jr. (1882-1884) died young and is buried in the Old Section of De Ann. Three daughters lived to adulthood."

1650 - Louisa Montgomery
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1820-1887

Born on August 20, 1820 in Tennessee, Louisa Crabb was the daughter of Stephen and Elizabeth Crabb. She married David J. Montgomery, a farmer, and they produced a family of seven children between 1842 and 1859. Her husband moved from Tennessee to Mississippi and then to Hempstead County, Arkansas, in 1844. The family was in Columbia County in 1854. Her husband served in the Confederate Army from 1863 to the close of the war. In 1874, he served in the Arkansas House of Representatives from the Fourteenth District, Hempstead County. By the 1880s, the family was in Prescott where Louisa Montgomery died after a short illness on April 24, 1887. On August 4, 1887, the bereaved husband married Margaret D. Kinchen Hardy, a widow in her thirties with five children. "

1655 - Anne Moore
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1841-1924

Born in Alabama on November 3, 1841, Anne Furgeson came to Arkansas in her youth. She married Joshua Moore and came to Prescott from El Dorado in 1882. Her husband Joshua B. Moore (1831-1898) died in Prescott in 1898. She had four step-children at the time of her death on November 18, 1924. She was a Baptist."

1660 - Isaac Moore
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1844-1900

Born on January 17, 1844, in Carlinville, Illinois, Isaac Moore married Mrs. Susan Bown in 1870. They and their growing family moved to Prescott in 1880 from Jerseyville, Illinois. In 1880, he operated a meat market on West Main St. in Prescott. In 1882, he moved his market to the Reppy Building on West First St. He also operated an ice cream parlor and the opera house. In 1884, he served as an alderman of the City of Prescott. He died in Checotah, Indian Territory, on June 24, 1900, but was returned to Prescott for burial."

1665 - Susan Vancil Moore
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1845-1928

Susan Tamson Vancil was born in Illinois on November 29, 1845. As a young woman, she married William T. Bown and moved to Iowa. They had one daughter, but her husband did not live long after the marriage. In 1878, she married Isaac Moore in Illinois, and they had a family of eight children. Two daughters who died young, Jessie V. Moore (1884) and Annie J. Moore (1873?-1884), are buried near their mother in De Ann. The Moores moved to Prescott in 1880. Isaac Moore died in 1900. After her husband's death, Mrs. Moore moved to Hope where a number of her children started Moore Bros., a grocery store and meat market, in 1906. It was a long-standing business in Hope. She lived there until her death on September 27, 1928, when she was returned to Prescott for burial. She was a lifelong member of the Christian Church."

1670 - Bettie Nan Moran
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1924-1928

This child was not yet four years old at the time of her death. She was playing around the gas stove in the living room of her home when her clothes ignited. Her mother was ill in bed with a fever. The mother rushed from her bed to cover the child with a blanket and then fainted. Help came, but the burns were fatal. The little girl died the next day on January 1, 1928. The mother was a widow living on West Elm Street."

1675 - Francis Newth
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1831-1919

Born on August 13,1831, in England, Newth came to the United States in 1850. He was one of a colony of farmers in Nevada County who had their roots in Europe and the American Midwest. His wife Sarah J. Newth (1841-1917) was a native of Indiana, the daughter of parents born in New Jersey. Francis Newth was literate and owned his farm free and clear in 1900. The Newths had five children and had lived in Michigan before coming to Arkansas."

1680 - Susan Elizabeth Parker
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1869-1918

Susan Elizabeth Pinkerton was born in Howard County, Arkansas, on January 1, 1869. She was converted at Bethel Camp Ground and joined the Methodist Church at the age of fifteen. She married James Alexander Parker on February 2, 1888. Her husband was a "

1685 - Louisiana Pitfield
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: ?-1904

Born in New Orleans, Louisiana, Louisiana Pitfield was the oldest daughter of Captain O. A. Pitfield, a ship's master, and a sister to Fannie Alabama Pitfield Terry, the wife of George W. Terry of Prescott. Fannie Alabama died in 1887 leaving her husband and a large family of children. Her sister came to Prescott to help her brother-in-law and his family and remained there until her death in 1904."

1690 - Charles F. Pittman
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1880-1948

Born in Prescott on December 1, 1880, Charles F. Pittman was the son of John Marshall Pittman and his wife Jennie Carr. The son of a prominent businessman, Pittman was educated in the local schools, the University of Arkansas and a New York business scho"

1695 - Dan Pittman
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1878-1941

Born in Prescott on December 18, 1878, Dan Pittman was the son of John Marshall Pittman and his wife Jennie Carr. He was educated at the University of Arkansas and Eastman Business College in Poughkeepsie, New York. He entered his father's hardware and "

1700 - Jennie Carr Pittman
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1856-1938

Born in Fredonia, Alabama, on December 26, 1856, Jennie Mildred Carr (she was christened Mildred Jane but later called Jennie Mildred) was the daughter of Charles Turner Carr and his second wife Susan Wesley Capehart Carr. In 1858, her parents moved to F"

1705 - John Marshall Pittman
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1853-1919

Born on February 2, 1853, on a farm in Columbia County, Arkansas (other sources give Lewisville, Arkansas as his place of birth), John Marshall Pittman was the second son of Fortunatus Pittman and his wife Ellen Elizabeth Eskridge. He was educated at the"

1710 - Mary Mildred Pittman
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1904-1911

Born in 1904 to Dan Pittman and his wife May McDaniel, this eight-year-old girl was ill for little more than a week before her death on October 20, 1911. The cause of death was congestion of the lungs. The well-to-do parents of this child could not save her, but they gave her a lavish funeral, stripping the florists of Prescott and Texarkana of carnations and mums. The devastated parents had lost another baby daughter on May 19, 1906. Their son Dan Pittman, Jr. (1913-1975) did live to adulthood and is buried with his parents and his wife Ruth M. Nutt Pittman (1916-1967) in the Old Section of De Ann."

1715 - Ruby Poe
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1879-1891

Born in Clinton, Arkansas, in 1879, Ruby Poe was a younger sister of Mrs. Helen Tompkins of Prescott. She had come to Prescott to attend school. She died of "slow fever", also known as brucellosis or undulant fever. She had had the fever some time but remained up and about. Her condition worsened suddenly, and she died on November 10, 1891. "Slow fever" was a common cause of death in this era."

1720 - Zipporah Elizabeth Powers
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1846-1891

Born in Missouri of Kentucky parents, Zipporah Powers was the wife of Dr. R. L. Powers. Dr. Powers owned a drugstore in early Prescott and was one of the group of Prescott businessmen who founded the Prescott and Northwestern Railroad. He was president of the shortline railroad and instrumental in acquiring its first rolling stock and building its first stages of track in the early 1890s. In 1880, his wife was already the mother of six sons, all born in Missouri. She is buried in De Ann with her last child Beryl Powers (1890-1891), who died two months before its mother. Apparently, the Powers family moved on to seek other opportunities. No other members of the family are buried at Prescott."

1725 - Elizabeth Hamby Prewett
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1858-1889

The younger sister of C. C. Hamby, Elizabeth Prewett came to Prescott to assist her brother and nephew after the death of her brother's second wife Isabella Blake in late 1886. Her brother, however, remarried in less than a year. Elizabeth Prewett remained in Prescott where she died in 1889. Her brother buried her near his second wife and named a daughter for her."

1730 - Hazel Moore Lowdermilk Pullen
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1906-1931

Born on February 2, 1906, Hazel M. Lowdermilk was the daughter of Romeo L. Lowdermilk and his wife Grace Vittoria Moore. Her parents had resided in Prescott and Okolona years before but moved to Boswell, Oklahoma, about the time of her birth. Hazel grew up in Oklahoma, finished high school in Boswell, attended Oklahoma College for Women for a year and graduated from Southeastern State College with a B. A. degree. She married James Thelmer Pullen at Sherman, Texas, and had a son in Dallas in 1927. She died at her home in Dallas on December 28, 1931. Her body was brought back to Prescott for burial."

1735 - James Donner Pullen
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1927-1943

Born on October 14, 1927, in Dallas, Texas, James D. Pullen was the son of James Thelmer and Hazel Pullen. At the time of his death on May 13, 1943, he was living with his maternal grandparents Mr. and Mrs. R. L. Lowdermilk in Boswell, Oklahoma. He had spent time with relatives in Prescott and had friends there. He was brought to Prescott to be buried with his mother. His father and a half-brother and half-sister survived him."

1740 - Winifred Melville Rosborough
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1878-1912

Winifred Melville was the first wife of Thomas Whitaker Rosborough, one of the major figures in the sawmill era of the Ouachita Mountains and the founder of the sawmill town of Rosboro. Winifred was English-born with reddish-blonde hair, a nice figure an"

1745 - Thomas Whitaker Rosborough, Jr.
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1907-1934

Born on August 25, 1907, in Syracuse, New York,"Whit" Rosborough was the only child of T. W. and Winifred Rosborough. After his mother's death in 1912, Whit lived with his father and a teen-aged black servant girl named Halcy whom his father's sister Mrs"

1750 - Brad Scott
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1847-1895

James Bradley Scott was born on September 19, 1847, in South Carolina, the son of John Thomas Scott and his wife Amelia McGill. He came to Arkansas with his older brother Samuel Addison Scott. During the Civil War, he served in the Confederate Army. When the railroad platted out Prescott, Scott owned a section of land on which the town developed. The Brad Scott Addition is an important part of the City of Prescott. Scott also became an important early merchant and dealer in real estate. He served one year as an alderman in 1876. He died on August 28, 1895."

1755 - Brad Hunter Scott
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1874-1954

A resident of Prescott since 1875, B. H. Scott was a son of Samuel A. Scott and Carolina Vickers Scott. He was a merchant and alderman, serving from 1906-9. A Methodist, he married and had a family. He died on July 1, 1954. Two of his sons are also in the Old Section of De Ann: Charles Addison Scott (1915-1991) and Brad Scott (1905-1992). "

1760 - Carolina Vickers Scott
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1845-1938

Born on October 8, 1845 in Georgia, Anna Carolina Vickers was living in Missouri Township, Hempstead County, Arkansas, before the Civil War. Her parents were J. J. Vickers and his wife Patience. Both her parents were natives of Georgia. Her father was a tanner by trade. In 1866, Carolina married Samuel A. Scott, a Civil War veteran who was fifteen years her senior. She came to Prescott in 1876 and spent the rest of her life there. Between 1869 and 1887, she produced a daughter Martha Jane (1869) and three sons Harmon Vickers (1870), Brad Hunter (1874) and George Wren (1887). She died at the home of her son B. H. Scott on January 3, 1938, having survived her husband nearly thirty years. She was a Methodist. "

1765 - Corrie Meredith Scott
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1855-1945

Born on January 5, 1855, in Pike County, Arkansas, Martha Cornelia Meredith was the daughter of Henry Hitt and Martha Austin Felder Meredith. She graduated from Mary Sharp College for Girls in Winchester, Tennessee. She married James Bradley Scott, a pioneer merchant in Prescott, on October 18, 1877. They had a family of five children before his death in 1895. She survived him fifty years and one day. She was a club woman and very active in the civic and social affairs of the town. A devout Baptist, she took a leading role in acquiring the site of the First Baptist Church in Prescott and served on the building committee that oversaw its construction. She died at her home on West Second Street North on May 3, 1945."

1770 - Elizabeth Amelia Scott
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1807-1895

Born a McGill in South Carolina, Amelia Scott was the mother of S. A. and Brad Scott, two pioneer Prescott merchants. She was probably related to the McGills in the 1860 census of Hempstead County, and their presence may have been a reason for her family's migration to southwest Arkansas."

1775 - Harmon Vickers Scott
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1870-1954

Born on February 18, 1870, H. V. Scott was a son of Samuel A. Scott and Carolina Vickers Scott. He lived in Prescott over eighty years and was engaged in various types of business until shortly before his death. He was an alderman in 1894 and served several years on the school board. In 1893, he married Terissa Blake (1873-1966), daughter of William J. and Emily Blake, and they had a family of four children. As a citizen, he was intensely interested in the growth of his hometown. He was one of the largest contributors to the erection of Prescott's high school building. Politically, he was a Democrat all his life. He died on August 27, 1954. His children Carol Scott (1900-1990) and H. Dwight Scott (1902-1978) are also in the Old Section."

1780 - Samuel Addison Scott
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1830-1909

S. A. Scott was born in Williamsburg District, South Carolina, to John Thomas Scott and his wife Amelia McGill on December 15, 1830. Sometime before 1860, he and his brothers Robert and Brad came to Arkansas and settled in Hempstead County along the stag"

1785 - Charles E. Shankle
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1870-1934

Born in Camden in 1870, C. E. Shankle came to Prescott in January 1881. He began his career as a newspaper man in the newspaper office operated by W. B. and E. E. White, the founders of the Nevada County Picayune. He worked with Fred W. Alsopp, a local "

1790 - Albert Home Smith
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1863-1937

A. H. Smith came to Prescott from Kansas in the first decade of the twentieth century. Starting in 1909, he was associated with his brother-in-law George F. Cress in the manufacture of ice. They later expanded into ice creams and soft drinks. He served as treasurer of the Prescott Ice Company and was a leading citizen in Prescott. He was elected alderman in 1924 and served for two years. About 1933, he and his family moved to California. He died at his home in San Jose, Santa Clara County, California on January 3, 1937, and his body was shipped to Prescott for burial."

1795 - Cora A. Smith
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1872-1961

Cora Alma Cress was the daughter of Jeremiah and Julia Cress. She married A. H. Smith and came to Prescott with her husband and other relatives from Kansas in the early 1900s. They were a well-to-do and prominent family in Prescott until they moved to California in the early 1930s.

1800 - George Dale Smoote
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1858-1880

Born on December 5, 1858 in Magnolia, Arkansas, George Dale Smoote was the son of George Parker Smoote and his first wife Sarah. He came to Prescott as a young man with his family in 1877. Like many other young people, he succumbed to the epidemic of disease that killed so many in early Prescott. He died on April 21, 1880."

1805 - George Parker Smoote
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1828-1891

Born in Hickman County, Tennessee, on December 28, 1828, Judge G. P. Smoote was the son of Dr. William N. Smoote and his wife Margaret Williams. Judge Smoote attended school in Williamsport and Maury County, Tennessee, and studied law in Columbia, Tenne"

1810 - Julia G. Smoote
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1843-1927

Born on March 3, 1843, in Thomaston, Georgia, Julia Goode was the daughter of Thomas W. Goode and his wife Amanda V. Minor, both natives of Virginia. Her father was a prominent attorney in Georgia and a member of the State Legislature in that state. She"

1815 - Sarah A. Smoote
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1832-1882

A native of South Carolina, Sarah A. Smoote was born on July 17, 1832, and was Mrs. Sarah A. Mullins before her marriage to George Parker Smoote. She produced a family of ten children before her death in Prescott on April 19. 1882."

1820 - Rev. J. M. D. Sturgis
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1835-1912

Rev. Sturgis was born in Columbia County, GA, on October 10, 1835. In 1860, he moved to Haynesville, LA. In 1861, he enlisted in the Confederate Army and served as a lieutenant in the Third Arkansas. Later, he was in J. R. Hardee's Regiment and the qua"

1825 - Dr. Junius W. Thomasson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: ?-1890

Dr. Thomasson was a dentist who had been practicing in Prescott for about seven years. He took his own life by shooting himself in the head with a pistol on April 11, 1890. The Prescott paper attributed his suicide to "mental and physical problems."

1830 - F. R. Thorburn
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1858-1924

One of the oldest citizens of Prescott at the time of his death, F. R. Thorburn was City Commissioner of the Municipal Water and Light Plant from its inception in 1898 to the time of his death. He was a trusted and respected city official. He was a steward and trustee in the Methodist Church and an Oddfellow. He died on March 27, 1924, of pneumonia after several weeks of illness."

1835 - Gertrude Thorburn
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1865-1912

Born on August 5, 1865, Gertrude Brooks was the daughter of H. G. and Jane Brooks. She came to Prescott from Louisiana with her parents about 1880. At the age of twenty, she married F. R. Thorburn of Missouri Township on January 6, 1886. They had a family of two sons and a daughter. In the last four years of her life, she was very ill and an invalid. She died at her home on Christian Ridge (West Second Street North) on August 23, 1912."

1840 - Helen Poe Tompkins
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1866-1932

Born on February 4, 1866 at West Point, Arkansas, Helen Nancy Poe was the daughter of Major W. T. Poe and his wife Lelia Brown. Her father served with General Lee in Virginia and in J. E. B. Stuart's Cavalry. The Poe family had come to Arkansas from Alabama. Helen Poe married W. V. Tompkins at Clinton, Arkansas, on November 20, 1884, and moved to Prescott. She and her husband had a son and a daughter. She died at home in Prescott on September 13, 1932."

1845 - William Vernon Tompkins
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1861-1953

Born on December 16, 1861, at West Point in White County, Arkansas, W. V. Tompkins was the son of William Temple Tompkins, a Virginian, and Mary Hope, a Tennessean. His father was killed during the Civil War. Tompkins was raised and educated by his moth"

1850 - Rita Melville Tuppen
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1879-1938

Born on July 24, 1879, in England, Rita Tuppen was the younger sister of Mrs. T. W. Rosborough. Mrs. Rosborough had gone to her sister's home in Syracuse, New York, in 1907 to have her first baby there. Rita Tuppen visited her sister from time to time i"

1855 - W. L. Webb
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1846-1893

Born on April 4, 1846, William L. Webb was a native of Arkansas. He was living in Ouachita County when he married Louisa J. Ross on March 10, 1872. Webb was a very early resident of Prescott and the first mayor, serving in 1876. After his tenure as mayor, he remained active in city government and served as an alderman in 1877, 1884 and 1890-1891. By profession he was a clerk, and he had a growing family to support. In 1880, he was living in Prescott with his wife, one-year-old son, his widowed mother-in-law and a ten-year-old brother-in-law. He died at Prescott on May 30, 1893."

1860 - Fannie Kirkland White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1861-1933

Born in Livingstone, Alabama in 1861, Fannie Cobb Kirkland came to Prescott in 1877. She married William B. White, a local newspaperman, on May 23, 1878. They lived in both Arkansas and Texas. Between 1879 and 1889, they became the parents of three daughters and a son. During their years in Prescott, she and her husband were active in the social and religious affairs of the town. She lived in Texarkana the last twenty years of her life but was a frequent visitor in Prescott. She died at the home of her daughter in Texarkana on January 4, 1933, and was returned to Prescott for burial with her husband. "

1865 - Hesterly Johnson White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1872-1911

Born on October 14, 1872, in Ouachita County, Arkansas, Hesterly Johnson was the daughter of Virginians who had come to Arkansas via Iowa. Hesterly was about ten when the family moved to Prescott. She married twenty-two-year-old Wat W. White of Prescott on November 22, 1893. She was a Methodist and a wife and mother for the remaining years of her life. She died on August 7, 1911, of tuberculosis and was buried in De Ann in the blazing 103

1870 - Lulu Tamplin White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1871-1898

Lulu Tamplin of Hot Springs was the first wife of Samuel Thomas White, the seventh child of Captain W. R. White. She died at the age of twenty-seven on January 18, 1898. Her husband remarried on April 19, 1899. His second wife was Margaret Ansley, the younger half-sister of J. A. Ansley and daughter of Margaret Livingston Ansley. Samuel Thomas White (1869-1949) and his second wife Margaret Ansley White (1872-1959) are buried in the New Section of De Ann."

1875 - Martha A. White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1841-1906

Born in Georgia on April 30, 1841, Martha A. White was married to William M. White, a banker living in Prescott in 1880. She ran a popular boarding house in early Prescott and was a resident of the town for many years. Several years before her death, she moved to Texarkana. She contracted consumption (tuberculosis), one of the great killers of the era. Knowing that she had little time to live, she came back to Prescott a few weeks before her death to die among family and friends. She died at the home of her son William B. White on December 3, 1906. She is buried near her husband and Georgia White (1879), a young son who only lived about three months."

1880 - W. M. White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1836-1899

Born in Georgia on August 29, 1836, William M. White was an early citizen of Prescott. He worked as a banker while his wife Martha A. White ran a boarding house. White served as city treasurer from 1878-1881. White may not have been too popular with the city government at all times. He sued and won a judgment of $25.00 against the city after falling through a wooden sidewalk and injuring his shin. He and his wife had four children that survived them. He died on April 12, 1899."

1885 - Mary K. Thornton White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1857-1893

Born in Cherokee County, Alabama, on January 4, 1857, Mary Katherine Thornton was the daughter of John Alexander and Eliza Thornton. On May 4, 1876, she became the wife of E. E. White. E. E. White was the founder of The Nevada County Picayune along with"

1890 - Mary Clarke White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1835-1884

Born on October 13, 1835, in Virginia, Mary Clarke was the youngest of thirteen children. Her mother died when she was several years old, and she was raised by her sister Fannie Clarke (Mrs. William Mailler) in northern Alabama. She married William Richard White on February 1, 1854, and they had a family of nine children. The family moved from Alabama to Arkansas before the Civil War. Mary C. White died in Prescott on November 23, 1884."

1895 - Mary C. White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1850-1930

Born on March 20, 1850, in Huntsville, Alabama, Mary C. Love was educated at Huntsville College, one of the largest institutions in Alabama at the time. A talented musician, she taught at Synodical Institute at Talladega, at Dishla Institute at Tuscumbia and at public and private schools in Prescott. She became the second wife of Captain W. R. White in Huntsville, Alabama, in August 1889. She remained in Prescott after her husband's death in 1921. She died at her home on East Main in Prescott on June 20, 1930, after suffering a paralytic stroke."

1900 - Wat W. White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1871-1936

Born on June 21, 1871, in Falcon, Arkansas, Watson Wyatt White was the eighth child of Captain W. R. White and his wife Mary Jane Clarke. In 1892, he went into the mercantile business with his brother Samuel Thomas White as White Brothers. On November 22, 1893, he married twenty-year-old Hesterly Johnson of Prescott. He was a Prescott merchant for many years and was also active in city government. He served as an alderman in 1894, 1899, 1903-4 and 1906-9. He died on October 18, 1936."

1905 - W. B. White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1847-1918

Born on January 18, 1847, in Hempstead County, Arkansas, William Berry White was the son of Joseph Rosser White and his wife Phoebe Whitesides. J. R. White was a Justice of the Peace in Ouachita County, Arkansas, in 1854 and Sheriff of Nevada County in 1"

1910 - Captain William Richard White
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1829-1921

Born on March 8, 1829, at Russellville, Alabama, W. R. White was the third of nine children born to Samuel B. White, a Methodist minister, and his wife Amelia Harris White. They had married in 1818. There were no public schools, so his father educated h"

1915 - Dolphus Whitten, Sr.
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1876-1954

Born in 1876 in Prescott, Dolphus Whitten became a registered druggist and pharmacist in 1901 and married Annie Logan in 1903. His son Dolphus Whitten, Jr. was a well-known educator in Arkansas and was associated with Henderson State University. Dolphus Sr. died at his home in Arkadelphia on September 8, 1954, but was returned to Prescott for burial. His wife Annie Logan Whitten (1884-1968), who survived him fourteen years, is buried next to him."

1920 - O. R. F. Whitten
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1848-1929

A native of Georgia, O. R. F. Whitten was an early resident of Prescott. He and his wife Beauna Vista, a native of Mississippi, were living in Prescott with their children in 1880. Whitten was a carpenter by trade and was owner and manager of a blacksmith and woodworking shop. He was active in city government, serving as an alderman in 1882, 1886, 1890 and 1892. He died at his home on West Elm and Third on February 4, 1929. He was a Methodist and a Mason."

1925 - Eliza J. Wigginton
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old White Section listing)
Date: 1866-1889

Born on February 23, 1866, Jennie Ansley was the daughter of William Strain Ansley and his second wife Martha Livingston Ansley. She grew up in early Prescott and married thirty-six-year-old W. H. Wigginton on January 4, 1888. In just over a year she was dead, leaving an infant daughter. She died on January 16, 1889. The Nevada County Picayune called her brief life "One of the saddest deaths we ever knew..." "

1930 - Guss "Rastus" Ansley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1875-1937

Born in Arkansas in 1875, Guss Ansley was the son of Cyrus Ansley and probably a descendant of slaves belonging to William Strain Ansley who migrated from South Carolina to then Ouachita County, Arkansas, in the late 1850s. Guss Ansley was a businessman "

1935 - Mary Ansley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1881-1960

Born on March 17, 1881, Mary E. Carter was twenty-one when she married twenty-two-year-old Guss Ansley on August 19, 1900. They were married for thirty-seven years and had a hot tamale business. She cooked tamales and her husband sold and distributed them. She survived her husband by many years and died on January 26, 1960. They had no children."

1940 - Sidney Avery
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1872-1924

Born on August 9, 1872, Sidney Avery was enumerated in the Negro Quarter of Ward 2 in Prescott in the 1920 census. He was forty-seven at that time, worked as an engineer in a mill shop and lived in his own home with his wife Lula. He must have been reasonably prosperous. He died on November 9, 1924, and a nice monument marks his grave although he was not a member of a benevolent society. "

1945 - Annie L. Boyd
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1868-1926

Born on August 27, 1868, Annie Dixon was the daughter of parents who were natives of North Carolina. Little is known of her early life. She was literate and married S. T. Boyd, who was nine years her senior, in 1887. They had three children. Their family was at the pinnacle of the Black community in Prescott. Their daughter Mattie married in 1909 and moved to Little Rock. Their older son Arnett Boyd (1892-1918) died on March 3, 1918, and may have been a victim of influenza. He is buried in the family plot. The younger son and third child, Charles Sumner Boyd, was educated at Howard University in Washington, DC, and completed his medical degree there just before his father's death in 1927. Mrs. Boyd did not live to see her youngest child become a doctor. She died on May 2, 1926."

1950 - S.T. Boyd
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1859-1927

Born on September 11, 1859, Shadrick T. Boyd was a native of Virginia as were his parents. Little is known of his early life. Mention of him first appears in the Prescott newspapers in the mid to late 1880s. He was a popular and capable young schooltea"

1955 - Ella Bradford
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1870?-1915

In 1910, Ella Bradford lived on East Third Street in Prescott with her family. She had been married to her husband Keserky Bradford for nine years, and they had a two-year-old daughter. He worked as a laborer in a lumber mill, and she was a laundress. Ella was the daughter of Rev. Albert and Fannie Gill. Her mother, then sixty and a widow, lived with her daughter. Ella and her mother were mulattos. Ella Bradford died of undetermined causes in 1915. She had joined the Royal Circle of Friends Benevolent Association. She was a member of the Pride of Oklahoma Circle #750. Their stone marks her grave."

1960 - Frank Bradley
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1859-1920

Frank Bradley died violently on December 3, 1920. He was riding in a Ford car with a White man named J. U. Brown when Train #7 hit the vehicle about one-half mile north of Prescott near the Prescott Ice Company, demolishing the car and killing Bradley instantly. Brown never regained consciousness and died minutes later. Bradley left a small but respectable estate of about three hundred dollars. His widow Mary Ann Bradley engaged the firm of McRae and Tompkins as her attorneys and sued the Missouri Pacific. The Circuit Court in Prescott determined that she had a cause of action, and the case went to Federal Court in Texarkana. J. U. Brown (1874-1920), Bradley's companion in death, is buried in the New White Section.

1970 - Eliza Brown
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1882-1921

Born in Louisiana on March 22, 1882, Eliza Brown was enumerated in De Roan Township, Hempstead County, Arkansas, at the time of the 1920 census. She was living with her sister Mary Wesson on the Hope to Lewisville Road. At that time, Eliza was a thirty-seven-year-old widow who worked as a day laborer. At the time of her death, she was a member of the Pearl of America Tabernacle # 240 in Prescott of the International Order of Twelve Knights and Daughters of Tabor. The stone of this benevolent society marks her grave. She died on December 22, 1921.

1975 - Clevern Cole
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1919-1924

Born on May 1, 1919, this little girl was the daughter of Andrew and Annie Cole who were living in Prescott at the time of the 1920 census. The family lived on West Aline near West Third. Andrew, a native of Louisiana, worked as a laborer in a mill. Clevern died on May 6, 1924, just a few days after her fifth birthday. A child's stone with a dove marks her grave.

1980 - Amanda "Mandy" Denson
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: ?-1911

Mandy Denson's tombstone gives her age at the time of her death as eighty-five. She told the census-taker in 1910 that she was ninety-one. She was a native of Georgia whose parents had come from Africa. She was a widow who had born thirteen children with four still living in 1910. She lived in Prescott with her forty-nine-year-old son John Denson and his family. John worked as a laborer in a planing mill and his wife Annie was a laundress at home. Mandy Denson died on January 22, 1911.

1985 - Adeline Dixon (Dixson)
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1856-1910

Born on May 12, 1856, Adeline Dixon was the wife of Wiley Dixon and died at Norvelle which was in Howard County. Dr. Hesterly in Prescott attributed her death to "change of life". She was a member of the AME Church and the Success Tabernacle of the International Order of Twelve Knights and Daughters of Tabor. Crecy Garland who must have been an official in this organization made her funeral arrangements. She died on August 11, 1910.

1990 - Elias Dixon
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1857-1915

Elias Dixon gave his age as forty-six in the 1910 census. He was renting and farming in Garland Township in Hempstead County. He had been married for twenty-one years, and he and his wife had had nine children with eight still living in 1910. He was a member of Gidden Temple #850 in Prescott and was buried under the auspices of the Mosaic Templars. A Mosaic Templar stone marks his grave. He died on March 27, 1915.

1995 - Addie Gill
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1885-1910

The headline "Negress Commits Suicide Last Night" announced the early death of Addie Gill in the Prescott Daily News. Born on August 3, 1885, she was the daughter of Reverend Albert Gill and his wife Fannie. She killed herself by taking an overdose of morphine on January 4, 1910. She was unmarried and lived with her parents. The Prescott paper reported there was no known reason for her suicide.

2000 - Elizabeth Hughey
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1872-1926

Born on August 3, 1872, Lizzie Pace was the daughter of Dick and Fannie Pace. On July 3, 1888, sixteen-year-old Lizzie Pace of Prescott married twenty-year-old John C. Hughey, also of Prescott. They had permission to marry from their respective parents, Dick Pace and Lee Anna Hughey. The young couple had children. Lizzie died in her early fifties on January 26, 1917.

2005 - John Carl Hughey
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1870-1927

John Carl Hughey was a successful black businessman in Prescott. He was a carpenter and builder of houses. He had attained some education and was literate. At the time of his death on October 3, 1927, he had accumulated a sizable estate. He owned a home on four lots in the Brad Scott Addition to the city and had personal property worth nearly $1,300. The furnishings in his home suggest a comfortable lifestyle. They included a Whitney upright piano and stool, an oak library table, a bust of Shakespeare, bric-a-brac and books as well as his carpenter's tools. Masonic burial insurance paid for his funeral. The family could afford respectable tombstones and a family plot with coping, the only such example in the Old Black Section.

2010 - G. W. Loudermilk
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1862-1905

Born on July 5, 1862, George Loudermilk was a native of Arkansas. He may have been born a slave to the Lowdermilk family that lived in Hempstead and Nevada Counties. In 1880, he was living in Missouri Township, Prescott with his twenty-one-year-old wife Rose and a baby son. He was a laborer. He must have also been involved in local politics and a member of the Republican Party. He served as an alderman in Prescott in 1889 before Blacks were disfranchised.

2015 - Rose Etta Lowdermilk
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1870-1935

In the 1910 census, Rose Lowdermilk gave her age as fifty-two. She was a native of South Carolina and mulatto in color. A widow, she had borne twelve children and had seven living, six of them lived with her. Though she must have been poor, she owned her own home free and clear and worked as a laundress on her own account. Over time, her children either died or moved away.

2020 - William McGill
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1829-1912

In 1880 Will McGill of Prescott gave his age as fifty-three. He was a native of South Carolina and had been a slave to the McGill family who were in present-day Nevada County before the Civil War. His twenty-five-year-old wife was obviously not his first wife as he already had grandchildren in his household. He was a laborer.

2025 - Thomas J. Smith
Author: From 2005 application to National Park Service to add the Old Section of the De Ann Cemetery to the National Register of Historic Places. (Old Black Section listing)
Date: 1875-1942

Born in 1875 in Mississippi, Tom Smith was living on Laurel Street in Prescott with his wife and four children in 1920. He already owned his home free and clear. His wife, a native of Arkansas, was a milliner. Tom Smith died in 1942. His wife Luella Smith (1879-1961) survived him by almost twenty years. His sons Thomas Harold Smith (1900-1970) and Claude M. Smith (1904-1980) are also in the Old Black Section of De Ann.



Member: American Association For State and Local History, Arkansas Museums Association

Copyright Notice and Limitations on Use: All informative and photographic material on the Depot and Museum web site and compact discs are copyright ©1996-2014 Nevada County Depot and Museum Home Page. Routines that generate the pages were written by, hosted by, and copyright ©2002-2014 Danny Stewart.All rights are reserved. Individuals who access the web site or purchase a compact disk are limited to private viewing of the material or quotation in an individual's historical research project. Use of material must be attributed to "". Prior written consent is required before any material is quoted or used in a work that is sold for any price or distributed by any means, either for profit or not for profit.